Some say that music is as important as other subjects in schools to promote learning in children life. Do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion.

The importance of music, which frequently generated a great deal of heated debate, has recently become even more controversial. Some proponents maintain that music is as important as other subjects in schools to promote learning in children life while others claim that it should just be a minor subject in schools. This essay will elaborate on how music is essential in education and how it cannot be the main subject, and thus lead to a reasoned conclusion.

At the outset, there is a myriad of reasons why music is really mentioned as a vital subject in education but the most conspicuous one stem from the fact that music makes students more creative. For example, music can stimulate the brain in creative activities. It is proved that many inventors listen to music to assist them to be more innovative at work. Thus, understanding music is a good thing for young children.

Moving on the opposite arguments putting forward by critics, some scholars believe that music is only a minor course in schools. Students have many subjects to study in schools such as mathematics, literacy, physics. Those subjects are more important in their educational trajectory. Therefore, it is necessary to acquire these pieces of knowledge first rather than studying music. Music can be learned at home with instruction of parents and it does not need to be a compulsory subject in schools.

In conclusion, taking these points into consideration, from my personal perspective, I am inclined to believe that music should be taught by parents and it cannot be a major in official teaching.