With the increase of digital media available online, the role of the library has become obsolete. Universities should only procure digital media rather than constantly updating textbooks. Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of view.

Nowadays, it is increasingly acknowledged that digital media are playing a more and more important role in our daily life. While some people believe that universities should get rid of libraries, others advocate that the existence of real books is vital to not only universities but also the whole human society. As far as I am concerned, textbooks and libraries should not remain in universities in spite of the cultural meaning they are carrying.

People who emphasize the importance of libraries and textbooks are primarily focusing on the culture and history behind the idea of real books. They argue that culture has been built up from people who relied heavily on the knowledge in literature since more than 5000 years ago. Hence, preserving libraries are regarded as keeping the evidence of what brings human civilization so far from the perspective.

It is evidently reasonable for me to believe that regardless of the symbolic idea behind libraries, real books obsolete compared to digital books. The main justification of this view is that it is much easier to get access to digital contents than library categories. In addition, digital media can interact with the readers and express information in a variety of ways. For instance, audio and video can describe scenes more vividly than simple written words.

In a nutshell, while this controversial topic of digital media should replace textbooks is still open to debate. I believe that the inevitable results of digital media taking place of textbooks are in the future.