Some universities deduct marks from students' works if given in late, what are your views and what action will you recommend to take?

The controversial topic with respect to submit assignment later never fails to attract public attention. There has been a heated debate on whether universities should deduct marks from the students' assignment if given in late. As far as I am concerned, I tend to be the advocate regarding this issue.

It is evidently reasonable for me to believe the fact that universities should show the importance of submitting assignments on time to students, due to the fact that they need to know the importance of punctuality. This is because, students are required to hand in assignments on time, which shows that they are capable to complete their tasks in a given time. To illustrate this, students will be rewarded if they finish an assignment earlier can be a convincing example. As a result, deduction of marks should be used by universities as a strategy.

In contrast, it is commonly believed as a fact that there may be too much pressure on students who have to finish assignments in a short period. Nevertheless, this argument does no hold water. It should be pointed out that students need to take full responsibility for their behavior, and they should be punished if they fail to submit an assignment on the due date. That is to say, students need to learn time management skills during their university education, therefore, they will be able to deal with all issues in their future career.

In a nutshell, due to the above-mentioned reasons, we may safely reach the conclusion that universities should make a deduction on students' marks if they submit the assignment after the due date. Despite the fact that it might be difficult for some students, there is no denying the fact that punctuality is very vital to students, and they should know how to manage their time effectively.