Large shopping malls are replacing small local shops in cities and towns. In your own experience, is it a positive development?

Nowadays, people become more aware that the phenomenon of large shopping malls replacing small shops is playing an increasingly important role in our daily life. While some people believe that this change can have beneficial effects on people's lives, others oppose that it may harm the public. In my opinion, large shopping malls taking the place of small shops will be more advantageous in respect of this issue, which can be supported by the reasons as follows.

It is reasonable for me to believe that large shopping malls have more benefits, which is obvious because they can accommodate more different goods. To be more specific, large shopping malls can display many different products in a multi-complex building, so consumers can enjoy the one-stop shopping experience and save many times. To further support the above statement, I can purchase daily necessities and ingredients in a large shopping mall at the same time without going to different small shops several times.

Besides, the second justification for this view is that people will have more opportunities to purchase cost-effective products, which is reasonable because people can have more choices for the same products with different brands in large shopping malls. To illustrate, in large shopping malls, consumers can compare prices and features, then purchase the most satisfactory products. A recent study from Oxford University can prove this. The study pointed out that 78% of people have a better shopping experience in large shopping centers than large stores.

In a nutshell, while this controversial topic never fails to attract public attention, we may safely conclude that there are lots of benefits of the large shopping malls replacing small shops.