Cashless society is becoming a reality. More and more people are using credit cards for payment, and less people use cash. How realistic do you think it is and do you think it is beneficial or problematic?

Nowadays, it is increasingly acknowledged that cashless society is playing a more and more important role in our daily life. While some people believe that using cash is the main consumption way in our society, others advocate that people have to use credit cards more often to replace cash. As far as I am concerned, it is a trend to using credit cards frequently, but cash cannot be fallen into disuse.

People who emphasize the importance of using cash are primarily focusing on it is uneconomic to the process by other cashless means. First at all, there are lots of small transaction must be through the use of cash. In addition, it is more fast and direct. For example, when receiving a tip, people love to see cash instead of a string of number.

Regardless of the symbolic idea behind cash, advocates can find a number of advantages of using credit cards for payment. Firstly, when paying by credit cards, the system would record the transaction; this process not only limits the tax evasion behaviour but also promotes money laundering prevention law. Moreover, it also shortens the time of transactions. For instance, tapping cards can keep the line moving quickly.

In a nutshell, while this controversial topic of the cashless society is still open to debate, I believe that the inevitable result of using credit cards taking place of paying by cash is in the future.