Do you think formal written assessments in today's world to assess students performance is effective or not? Discuss your viewpoint on this and support your answer with examples.

The controversial topic with respect to education never fails to attract public attention. There has been a heated debate on whether it is correct to assess the student's learning by the written exam. As far as I am concerned, I tend to be an advocate regarding this issue.

It is evidently reasonable for me to believe that such an approach is of little value due to the fact that it is not capable of assessing the students in a comprehensive way. This is because the written assessment mainly focuses on academic knowledge instead of practical skills because these abilities cannot be fully reflected in exam papers. To illustrate this, teamwork skill is a convincing example. As a result, students tend not to be well-rounded and the importance of academic performance will be overvalued.

In contrast, it is commonly believed as a fact that this method is fair and justified because everyone shares the same marking criteria and standardized exam condition. Nevertheless, this argument does not hold water. It should be pointed out that formal assessments tend to be motivated students and result in a loss of passion.

That is to say, the grading and ranking create an intense study environment because they will cause fierce competition and heavy pressure from parents and school.

In a nutshell, due to the mentioned reasons, we may safely reach the conclusion that written exams are incompetent to assess students’ performance. Despite the fact that this practice is fair and measurable, it is not comprehensive.