In your opinion, what are the advantages and disadvantages of extreme or adventure sports?

These days, there is an open debate on the pros and cons of adventure sports. Some may believe that such sports activity is dangerous, while others may claim that it has some beneficial effects. From my perspective, extreme sports have both positive and negative aspects, and I will explain my point of view from both sides in the following argument.

On one hand, extreme sports are advantageous because they can boost the economic development of a country. To be specific, governments can take advantage of extreme sports as a featured element for their tourism industries to attract visitors, which may create a lot of work opportunities for local people. For example, in New Zealand, skydiving and bungee jumping are both popular activities, and it has 120 new positions to meet the needs of the increasing demand for participating in these adventure sports, which makes a 15% increase in GDP in 2010. As a result, the benefits from extreme sports to economic growth is quite obvious

On the other hand, those who argue against the notion claim that such sports may cause physical injury to human beings. Specifically, Although many extreme sports require protective equipment and professional guidance when an emergency occurs, it is too hard for people to react, which is a crucial life threatened. For instance, Paul Walker who was a professional car racer, dead in a racing accident in 2015, as the vehicle was totally out of control after the crash. To sum up, doing extreme sports is quite risky and dangerous.

In conclusion, since participating in adventure sports can both drive economic development and cause physical injury or even death, there are both advantages and disadvantages of extreme sports.