With the increase of digital media available online, the role of the library has become obsolete. Universities should only procure digital media rather than constantly updating textbooks. Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of view.

Recently, with the increase of digital media available online, the role of the library has become obsolete. There is a school of argument that digital media is better than printed media whereas there are those who maintain a contradict view. However, it does not seem unreasonable to suggest that digital media better over printed media. In this essay, I will elaborate both merits and disadvantages with clear examples and thus lead to a plausible conclusion.

To commence with, there are myriad of reasons why digital media is best over library, are as follows. At the heart of this matter is that with digital media, students can access more content in less time, not only students and readers often waste their time searching for textbooks but also affects their studies as whole. In a recent case study, for example, it was found that who read textbooks scored fewer marks as compared to those who studied form e-books. Hence, it is apparent why there is an inclination towards the digital books.

Nevertheless, there are pitfalls that negate with this argument and that can certainly overwhelm the potential influence of digital media over printed media, still the most alarming one rooted to the fact that eyesight deterioration is a common issue found in readers of digital books. Moreover, spending more time In front of LED screens affects their eyesight severely.

To put it in a nutshell, I put down saying that as per aforementioned arguments, benefits of digital media over printed media far outweigh its drawbacks and thus they are indeed to great to ignore.