With the increase of digital media available online, the role of the library has become obsolete. Universities should only procure digital media rather than constantly updating textbooks. Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of view.

In recent times, digital media has increasingly become popular due to which library significance has come down so as to avoid the cost to keep the facility updated. there has much been contention about whether university library usage is obsolete or not. This essay will discuss both the advantages and the disadvatages of the usage of digital media and the university library.

First and foremost, there are a myriad of reasons in favor of my notion and the conspicuous one is that digital media is not only accessible material from everywhere but also saves traveling time and cost-effective. For instance, thirty percent of literacy rate in India has increased due to availability of free digital material to remote locations. Hence, it is evident why digital library is more advantageous over university library.

On the other hand, the information available in digital media is not reliable as there is no authorised publisher tagged to it and anyone can update incorrect information in the web. For instance, recent survey in Africa revealed that two percent of students failed in their exam by going through incorrect material; furthermore, the library provide such an environment which is feasible for people to study and less prone to eye diseases. Apparently, students may secure more marks by following that approach.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the advantages of digital library are more when compared to the university library and they are indeed too great to ignore.