With the increase of digital media available online, the role of the library has become obsolete. Universities should only procure digital media rather than constantly updating textbooks. Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of view.

Without doubt, technology has brought numerous changes to people’s lives and one of them is media consumption. Today, the majority of the society prefer digital media instead of traditional textbooks. Whether universities should promote digital tools or libraries is a hot topic of discussion and this essay will examine both the pros and cons in this respect.

The first aspect to point out is the drastic change in the access of data. Nowadays, accessing information is easier than ever and most of the students and academics find it as a great opportunity to conduct their research effortlessly. Many people can agree that spending hours in a library to find a piece of article is not logical. Besides, digital media is more environment friendly compared to textbooks which is also a considerable point.

On the other hand, the availability and accessibility of knowledge causes a major problem that is information pollution. Fake news and information which can be found everywhere on the internet are the main problem. The only way to deal with it, is to teach rising generation critical thinking skills and encourage them to question everything they hear or read on the internet based sources.

In conclusion, every coin has two sides and one can find various advantages and disadvantages. It is important to note that universities should take control the traffic of information which is offered in university online libraries in order to maintain the quality of available data.