Information revolution brought about by modern mass media has both positive and negative consequences to individuals and society. To what extent do you agree with this statement? Discuss and use your own experience.

Recently, the phenomenon of corresponding impacts of the information revolution on mass communication has sparked a heated debate. Although contested by many that the matter of the using internet for massive exchanging information in mass media is highly beneficial, such issue is regarded positive by a substantial number of individuals. I am inclined to believe that boosting social and scientific knowledge can be a plus. However, making wasting time on the web is the main drawback, and I will analyze that throughout this essay.

From a social and scientific standpoint, epidemic use of social media can provide society with some noticeable effects which are rooted in the fact that the merits of mass communicating around the world, as well as using technology for acquiring the latest news and information, are inextricably bound up. Moreover, beneficial ramifications of simultaneous communications and medical advances apparently can be seen. As a tangible example, using video conference during surgeries or sending emails to transfer the latest founding about the special disease play vital roles to treat patients.

On the other hand, Excessive exposure of individuals to social media might increase the consequences of wasting time and having depression. The reason is, social websites are so addictive and as a result, the users do not have enough time to doing exercise or face-to-face communication. According to some research undertaken by UCLA, 65% of depressed patients spend more than 5 hours on social due to their sedentary lifestyle.

To conclude, while there are several compelling arguments on both sides, I believe that the benefits of information technology and mass media far outweigh its drawbacks. Not only do the advantages of the scientific and medical improvements prove the significance of accessing the most up-to-date information in the world, but also pinpoint increasing the level of knowledge implications.