In many countries students take a year off after finishing school and work or travel during this period. Should students take a gap year before attending universities? What are the advantages and disadvantages of it?

Those days, there is an ongoing debate between people about students taking a long break from study after finishing school. While it can be claimed that taking a break before attending university can help student to refresh their mental and physical fatigue, my view is that the disadvantages overweigh the advantages. In this essay, I will explain my point of view by analysing both sides of the argument.

First of all, there are several reasons why taking a gap after finishing school does not benefit for students. One of them is that after a long break, most of the students do not want to continue their university study. It can also be argued that it is very important to achieve an academic degree in order to secure a job especially in today’s competitive job market. It should also be taken into account that without a job with steady income, people are not be able to survive in current expensive society.

Those who argued for taking a break before attending universities, had a different point of view and said that it can actually be a good thing. Firstly, it is claimed that teenagers require to have a break after a long high school study in order to help in decision making of choosing the specialized major in university. Then, there are concerns about children choosing a subject that they are not passionate to learn.

While there are strong arguments on both sides of the case, my opinion is that students must not take a break after finishing schools and they must subsequently continue for university study. I would strongly recommend that parents should force their children on continuous studying.