The choice of distance between university and home, which is always debatable, has now become unprecedented controversial. It's argued that selecting an institute far way from home has some positive impacts. I am of the opinion that we would rather make the opposite choice. This article will elaborate both of the arguments and thus lead to a constructive conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why some students prefer an university in a different city even in another country. The most dominant one lies in the fact that people believe leaving high school is the first stage in our life that we should live alone without parents. As an illustration, according to Shanghai Daily, teenagers who leave their hometowns for further education tend to have 30% more friends than their peers.

Nevertheless, there is a deluge of arguments in favor of my stance. The most preponderant one stems from the fact that many families rely on their children even more than the opposite. Furthermore, distance is not the key factor that affects how we behave ourselves, and also not the excuse that impedes students' growth. From my own experience, an appropriate choice is to make parents feel comfortable while figure out the aim of staying in the university.

Considering all the substantial insights above, we can safely reach a conclusion that although a remote university can force us to live without parents which brings some benefits, choosing a near academy is a better decision.