Mass media like TV, newspaper and radio influence people, particularly young generation. Do you think it works as a pivot to shape the society? What is your opinion?

Nowadays, the influence of mass media has become a long-running dispute among the public all over the world, which leads to a moot question “whether mass media works as a pivot to shape the society or not?”. It is a widely held view that the influence of mass media, including TV set, the Internet, and the newspaper is highly beneficial, whereas I tend to believe that one must weigh up carefully the pros and cons of this issue.

To begin with, it is a common belief that media such as TV, newspaper, and radio play a vital role in each society. Therefore, I express some reasons why I support this idea. First and foremost is that the public awareness will be raised in terms of socio-economic, technology, medical fields, and keeping up with the latest news. Secondly, it can be argued that the juveniles will be able to promote their theoretical knowledge, cognitive skills, and beneficial information as well as enjoying educational and documentary programs. In addition to this information, it is inevitable that people’s culture, character, and attitudes are shaped by mass media. A group of socialists, working at a prestigious university conducted that the life has become convenient by the availability of video camera, useful websites, print media, computer data, and Email message.

However, there is no doubt that constant use of mass media provides people with various negative points. It should be taken into account that some violent and unpleasant programs in TV cause damaging consequences, such as behavioral corruption to the society. Moreover, newspaper comprising flashy advertisement that tempts people to purchase the products without knowing them.

To recapitulate, I firmly believe that mass media as a pivot to shape the society must be taken into consideration to widespread uses of mass media. However, as every garden may have some weeds, the local authorities are recommended to enforce stricter legislation, and individuals are hoped to heighten their intellect.