Most Artists earn low salaries and should, therefore, receive social welfare from governments in order for them to continue their work.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with this statement. Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

Low wages for the artists is considered one of the major reason to discontinue their work. Some people suggest that artists should be supported by the government whereas other differ the notion. I agree with the idea of extending government support for deserving artists only in terms of their income and value of their work.

Some artists are really dedicated to their work and assert more attention towards their creative work rather than commercializing their art. This fact brings them under heavy financial stress and sometimes results in abandoning their professions or a compromise on the quality of their work. Gokh,for example, a famous artist in history had a very tough life due to his limited income and heavily depended upon the financial assistance from his family. Many artists, however, may not be lucky to have such generous relatives and must be supported from social welfare programs by the governments.

On the other hand, it can also be noticed that some people may take the advantage of this benefit and can hide their laziness by taking art as their profession and then relying on government support. This can be mitigated by establishing stringent criteria to evaluate their artwork before extending such financial support. This criterion can be framed and the artwork by need artist can be evaluated by the artist whom work is already established in society.

In conclusion, governments should be judicious to the deserving artists to enable them continuing their artwork. This, however, must be regulated to avoid the misuse of the facility by non-deserving individuals.