Learning a new language at an early stage is helpful for children. Is it positive for their future prospects or will it have some adverse effects? Do you agree or disagree?

Being bilingual has always been a contentious issue among the psychologists and in academic circles. Some people believe that learning a new language is positive for student's career whereas others differ with the notion. I consummately accord with the concept of learning more than one language at an early stage.

To begin with, there are myriads of studies that have proven the fact that being bilingual instigates some specific parts of the brain that brush up our cognitive skills. The research has also revealed the fact that bilingual kids also perform better when it comes to switching from one task to the other. This may be attributed to the practice of their brain while switching from one language to the other during their daily life communication. I have learned English in addition to my native language from my elementary school and I can confidently say that it helped me in learning things more swiftly.

It can be argued that the time spent on learning an additional language can be invested in learning more subjective knowledge such as math and sciences. This argument loses its importance when we realize that we are living in a global village now where across the border communications are getting more preference than the technical knowledge. Therefore, the capability of being bilingual enhances one`s chances to be placed in multi-national companies.

In conclusion, even though learning a new language at an early stage of academics seems to be a digression from the main studies of math and science. This, however, is an established fact that an additional language sharpens our learning abilities and helps in our long-term endeavors.