Some people believe that TV is a useful invention. To what extent you agree with the statement. Give your opinion and explain with the observations and examples from your personal experience.

In this era of electronic media, television has become a necessary part of every home. Some people believe that TV performs a positive role in the society whereas others differ and claim that watching TV is a wastage of time. In my opinion, TV is a useful invention like other inventions, provided a balance is kept between the time spent in front of the TV and other activities.

TV provides healthy entertainment for free time. Sports channels are a good source of entertainment whereas news channels enhance our knowledge about current affairs and play a vital role in shaping our opinion about ongoing global issues. It is a common observation that many families enjoy their dinner while watching their favorite TV shows. TV, therefore, is one of the major sources to spend quality time with family and friends.

On the other hand, it is also argued that people, especially kids, spend an inordinate amount of time in front of the tv and miss their commitments. Particularly, TV is a major source of a digression from studies for students and they get poor grades in exams. This, however, can be mitigated by having a stringent control by the parents and by regulating their daily routine. Positive entertainment can refresh the kids to be more focused if controlled by parents appropriately.

In conclusion, TV is a positive invention and can contribute to developing a well-entertained and well-informed society. A balance of time consumed for watching tv is definitely required as the excess of everything is bad.