Some people think that companies should involve their employees in decision making. To what extent you agree with this concept.

Some people believe that organizations should involve their employees in decision making whereas a considerable number of people differ and claim that decision making should be restricted to senior management only. I consummately accord with the concept that employees should be involved in critical decisions.

The motivation of the working force is a key to success for any company. This motivation significantly depends upon the fact that people who are doing the job know the reason for their efforts. When they are involved from the stage of making any policy, they are actually given an opportunity to know the reason for their actions. This strategy simply converts into the motivation of the staff and finally enhances company revenue. Considering the importance of this critical aspect, senior management in many companies have enhanced their interaction with the first line of employees.

Contrary to that, it can be argued that some business decision demand confidentiality and cannot be shared with everyone before their implementation. This is an era of competition and timing is a key factor in the market. So, by involving more and more staff in decision making may result in compromising on the secrecy of the business strategical decisions. Therefore, it can always be agreed that a line needs to be drawn between sharing the information and limiting the critical information such as project timing, margins to designated authorities only.

Considering aforementioned arguments, it can be concluded that it is vital to involve employees in decision making for any company to enhance their motivation level. This, however, should not compromise on business secrets of the organization.