In most of the education systems, students are assessed by written examinations. Do you think it is a good idea or not? Give your reasons.

Recently, written examinations have sparked an ongoing controversy, which inevitably leads to a moot question “is it advantageous or not?” Whereas it is a widely held view that formal assessment is highly beneficial, I will discuss controversial aspects of that throughout this essay.

From the educational standpoint, written exams are bound up inextricably with performance appraisal, which indicates they lead to both skill and knowledge. As a well-known example, a longitudinal study conducted by eminent scientists in 2014 demonstrates the relationship between exam results and systematic training as well as an exponential increase in academic achievements. Researchers, nevertheless, paid heed to efficient training systems, educational progress, and academic background alike. Consequently, my empirical evidence presented thus far supports the contention that the likelihood of poor scores is correlated positively with not only assessment process but also adverse outcomes.

Within the realm of psychology science, without the slightest doubt, written examinations attribute to anxiety, in that it would come down to high-stress levels, cheating, and major behavioral problems. A salient example of such attribution is critical assessment, which is a cause for concern since it was mistaken to take exam results for granted. Had there been a paradigm shift earlier, scholars might have had the opportunity to pinpoint psychological problems. Likewise, hardly had they confined their attention to oral examinations, assessment procedures, and even chronic stress. Hence, it is reasonable to infer the pivotal role of systematic changes.

To conclude, as for myself, as the saying goes “all’s well that ends well,” after analyzing what elaborated above, I firmly believe that the advantages of written exams are of more significance. However, with the benefit of hindsight, we conceive the more we research, the further we discover.