‘Movie stars and celebrities should be good role models and use their fame to promote worthy causes’. To what extent do you agree with this statement? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

One of the most conspicuous trends of today’s world is the colossal upsurge in the fact that Movie stars and celebrities should be good role models and use their fame to promote worthy causes. Over the years we have peoples arguing on both sides. I profoundly agree to this factor and I will be scrutinizing these throughout this essay.

There are a plethora of reasons that accounts to favor this statement. The most preponderant one is the fact that the influence that movie stars have in the minds of people. Most successful actors have a very good image in the society and when they promote something people are inclined to believe that they are for a good cause. This influential factor is one of the major reasons that the companies choose them for promoting their products. But this influential factor should be put to a good cause rather than using it as a means of income generation.

It has been proven in many occasions that the fame and influence that the actors possess can be a great factor of influence when promoting something for a good cause. One of the recent surveys conducted by the Deccan Chronicle regarding the variation of funds raised for worthy causes proved that those which were promoted by movie actors have an increase in the income over the others by a whooping factor of 30 percent.

To conclude, the fame and influence that movie stars have should be put for a good cause and not just to generate income. They as an individual has the moral value to extent the support for something that is good for the society.