Nowadays, people spend too much time at work to the extent that they hardly have time for their personal life. Discuss.

In recent years, there is an increasing trend of people working for extended duration often at the cost of their personal lives. While some people believe that it is essential for employees to work extensively hard to survive in this competitive environment, others oppose this idea. This essay will discuss both sides and provide reasons why people must find the right balance between work and personal life for leading a successful life.

To begin with, one strong argument among those that favour the behaviour of workaholics is that it is a necessary prerequisite for a successful career. Our contemporary world has a significant population of over qualified individuals who compete for a limited number of opportunities, which has resulted in a rat race where only the fittest survive. For example, software companies are laying off a large chunk of its employees citing automation and non-productivity of staff. Moreover, superior aspirations and desire for earning handsomely drive people to overwork themselves as businesses become more complicated and demanding.

However, there are several arguments to support the detrimental impacts that excessive work has on one's personal life. Firstly, working beyond office hours is often at the cost of the time one spends with their families, which negatively impacts personal relationships. For instance, children of working parents often develop unfavourable habits due to the lack of attention from parents. In addition, working in stressful professions are a leading cause of cardiovascular diseases like hypertension. Consequently, lack of appreciation or career growth in work coupled with strained relationships result in depression episodes.

To conclude, despite the importance of working hard in today's competitive world, one should strive to find the necessary balance between work and life. In my opinion, allocating sufficient time for both these are imperative to lead a peaceful and healthy life.