By number of speakers, Chinese is the most spoken language in the world. With Britain leaving the EU, English may no longer be an official language in EU countries. Will English continue as the world’s de facto “global language?”

These days, there is an on going debate between people about either English will continue as the world's global language even after Britain leaving EU. While some progressively adore that English will save its dominance throughout world, others undoubtedly despise it. This essay will prudently persuade the future of English language in this case and will conclude that English importance will remain there in future also.

With China world top populated country, chinese language is no doubt the most spoken language in the world, but we can not ignore the fact that English is also not too behind in this case. Moreover when we deeply look into chinese literature we are unable to find any valuable portion in this language. Much of literature is written in English. For example, when I was a university student, I performed a research on amount of literature stored in different languages and found that only 10% of world literature is available in Chinese language. So in literature perspective Chinese is far behind to get worldwide dominance.

On the other hand, when we look English we see that maximum research and technological development are being carried out in English. This make English as world most influential language. As per research of a prestigious university, it was revealed that in almost 70% of offices of multinational companies English is official language thus making it world's de fecto global language. This trend is also being expected to continue.

To conclude, altough there are several compelling arguments on both sides of the case, but by closely looking we can say that English is still far ahead of Chinese. So in my view, English will keep its dominance even after Britain exit from EU.