Television has two roles: to inform and to entertain. Explain which of these roles you see as more important. To what extent do you think that TV today performs each of these roles in an effective way? Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

Television is integral part of modern life. It has two major role of providing information and entertainment. Both of these roles are important in common person life. This essay will discuss these both roles, particularly information role and conclude that this role is fulfilled very much.

With the development in technology and communication system, everybody now has access to television. Some people use television for learning purposes where there are a lot of educational and informational programs like online university courses and hourly news. For example, I used to see television news to get latest happening around world. There are also some people who use television for entertainment. My children use to watch cartoon on television. So importance of television role depends on the person who is using it.

There are many types of television channels accessible through different mediums like satellite dishes, cable and internet. One can access any of its relevant channels to get required information. For example when I was studying in university, I used to see online classes of my course which benefited me a lot to get my required results. So we can say that television is performing its informative role effectively.

In modern life, television has an important role to provide information and entertainment to a common purpose. In conclusion, providing information is key role of television in modern life which is effectively fulfilled by it.