Some people believe laws change human behavior. Do you agree with it?

These days, there is an ongoing debate between people about effects of law on human behavior. While some progressively adore the ideology that law change human behavior, others undoubtedly despise it. This essay will prudently persuade with both sides and will conclude that law changes human behavior.

Laws in a society are made for betterment of its member if they are followed in their true sense. There must be also some punishments if someone not follows these rules and regulations in order to make sure that everyone follows. According to my own experience when I was a university student, I performed an academic research on the crime rate in Lahore city, which revealed that there was 50% decrease in theft cases when strict punishment in theft law was included. So one can argue that compelling people to follow law changes their behaviors.

People who argue that law does not change the human behavior give reason that it is internal motivation which forces someone to change his behavior. This may be true in civilized communities but in majority cases only small portion of population change their behaviors by internal motivation. Majority of people need some reward or punishment in order to follow rules. As per reports of KSA crime branch because of strict rule on drugs, numbers of people who use drug in KSA are lowest in the world.

Although there are compelling arguments on both sides of the case, but looking closely one can conclude that there are significant effects of law on human behavior. So, I strongly agree with the statement that law change human behavior.