Parents are responsible for the behaviour of the children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, the subject regarding whether parents are responsible for their children’s acts and behaviour has become a heated debate. Although contested by many, a substantial number of people hold true the notion that parents should take responsibility for their child’s actions, which I support it. This will be analyzed in this essay.

For one, it is commonly accepted that children are the blank slate and they absorb even the tiniest bits of information from their parents. For example, a 5 years old boy can easily learn a coarse language, if his parents talk to each in an abusive way. This example clearly shows that children are like a sponge and their characters can be easily shaped by their parents’. Thus, it is quite evident why this idea has garnered support.

In addition, parents act as the child’s leaders, and for this, they are accountable for teaching social behaviour to their child as well as disciplining him. As my own experience, my (never-born!) nephew used to bring home his friend’s toys whenever he went to his house for playing. His parents talked with him and explained to him to why this unauthorized action is not a correct one. As this unacceptable manner could have become a habit, parents’ role to discipline the children and to teach them what is wrong and what is correct is quite evident. This example fortifies the argument why parents are responsible for their children’s behaviour.

To conclude, after analyzing how parents’ own behaviour can mirror their child’s in addition to their leadership role, it has been proven that why they should be accountable for what their kid does.