Parents should be held legally responsible for their children’s acts. What is your opinion?

raising a child with ethics and values is a difficult task for every parent. Although some people argue that children should be responsible for their own acts, I profoundly believe the influence of parents plays a vital role in their children's characters and mental development.

From the social standpoint, responsible parents bring the society a noticeable effects which are root in the facts of merits. This can be explaied by parents are the closest persons to their children as they are the ones who children spend most of their time with before they grow up, and stand on their own feet. As a tangible example, parents who have good manners will result in a polite child.

From the scientific point of view, irresponsible parents can cause several ramifications to the community, which are related to the reality that demerits of inefficient relationships are crucial. To cite an example, a study conducted by a group of researchers in the University of Nottingham, have proved that 70% of the criminal crimes in UK were committed by people who were raised in both single-parents household and broken family. Thus, the truth that family environment plays a vital role in children's behaviours is undeniable.

In a nutshell, while there are several compelling arguments in both sides. I firmly support the idea of parents are held accountable for children's acts, not only social behaviour but also mental development.