Happiness index is becoming a new national success rather than only economic growth. What do you think about this idea? What can be used to measure happiness index?

A thriving economy is undoubtedly a sign of the prosperity in a country, however, the economic growth should not be used as the sole factor to justify the success of a country. In my perspective, a sustainable development of a nation should be holistically determined by non-economic factors such as happiness and general well-being. this essay will further elaborate my ideas with justifying reasons and thus lead to a plausible conclusion.

Without a decent amount of incumbent, the government will not have sufficient resource for the infrastructure, which will then delay the development of the whole country. Nevertheless, this argument does not hold water because every individual is the essential component of a country instead of money. The ultimate goal of a country is to increase the overall quality of life of their people in both physical and mental aspects.

money is just a tool to achieve a better life. For instance, parents with good income can afford a better life for their children and family but having to work 7 days a week or overwork themselves will foster some negative impacts in the family and society. Despite having a decent income, parents might not have time to keep their children company. this will eventually bring more social problems to the community when the children grow up with lacking love and care.

In essence, both physical and mental health of people contributing to national happiness index, should be the best measurement of a country’s success.