what are the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in developing countries ?

In the recent decades, low-cost airfare has made international travel easier than before which, therefore, many countries have developed their tourism industries into the key sectors of the economy. However, this has sparked a heated debate on the positive and negative impacts that brought to the developing countries. In my perspective, the benefits of tourism definitely outweigh its drawbacks due to the economic increment it brings to a country.

To kickstart, tourism can create a considerable number of job opportunities to their people in the country when a thriving tourism industry implies an increasing need for variety of services such as hotel, transports, restaurants, and entertainment. Apart from the services, tourism also results in the developing of infrastructure needed to accommodate the visitors, while bringing great advantages to their own people too. To cite an example, Malaysia, a developing country that relies on tourism industry as the key factor of growing its economy, has built monorail in all over its capital city in 1996. Since then, it has undoubtedly brought much convenience to their people to travel within the city and alleviate the traffic problems.

Despite having so many benefits, tourism can be detrimental to a developing country in several ways. A country may suffer from the loss of their traditional culture when people in the country are forced to change their lifestyle, customs and pick up some other languages in order to communicate effectively with the foreigners. One of the best examples is some of the new generations who work in the big cities are gradually losing the ability to speak their mother tongue when English becomes the only language they use in their daily lives.

In essence, global tourism is greatly beneficial to a nation’s economy and development despite putting the country in the risk of culture loss. To me, governments should continue putting effort into developing the tourism industry to bring more prosperity to their countries.