People are moving to urban areas from rural areas for better life. What do you think about?

In recent years, there has been a colossal upsurge in the most significant trend to see prodigies discussing the effects of the rural-urban migration across the world, be it an impoverished or affluent nation. In this essay, I shall elaborate people move to big cities mainly in search of job opportunities and higher living standard, and this worrying trend has an adverse impact on both rural and urban communities.

At the outset, there are myriad of reasons which can be attributed to the movement. Firstly, the most conspicuous one is that a considerable number of people move to metropolises with the intention of seeking employment, due to the introduction of machinery decreased demand for the labour in the rural areas. Not only the unemployment rate increased in the agricultural sector, but residents in big cities are also gaining a broader access to public facilities and services including medical, education and transport system. For example, many young couples have chosen to migrate to big cities because they expect that their children can receive a high-quality education in urban settings. Hence, it is apparent why people will be able to improve job prospect.

However, another pivotal facet of the argument is that this movement may lead to a sharp rise in urban crime rates. The inflow of numerous migrants will create a substantial demand for housing and job opportunities in cities. Unfortunately, it is impossible to satisfy all migrants' needs within a short period of time. As a result, some migrants who are poorly-educated might end up being unemployed and living in slums with harsh conditions. In extreme cases, they may commit a crime for money and needs. Therefore, needless to say, the associated demerit of increasing population in the cities can have a far-reaching impact on the people living in the city.

To recapitulate from the aforementioned arguments, one can conclude that people, in order to find a better life, moving to the city can cause the inevitable effects which are indeed too dire to ignore.