There is no doubt that people can learn many useful skills from sports regardless individually or in a team. Some argue that people should participate in them as individuals while others feel that they should do it together in teams. Personally speaking, I am inclined to believe that both types of participation would be beneficial and will provide examples to support my points.

On the outset, individual participation may seem far more advantages due to the fact that athletes have more direct control over their own results. Unlike working in teams, individual athletes can easily determine areas of improvement and focus energy and effort in those aspects. This is reinforced by a research conducted by Harvard University that 60% of athletes choose to face challenges individually because they feel that they can effectively solve those problems with their strong bodies. Evidently, it is true that athletes are able to develop useful skills from individual participation in sports.

On the other hand, team sports helps an individual much more than the physical aspects alone. It builds character, teacher and develops strategic thinking, analytical thinking and leadership skills. Indeed, some could have no opportunities to develop such skills if not for their team participation in sports. My netball team, although fairly new, was able to win the game because of the synergy within the team and the outstanding cooperation skills.

In view of the arguments above, one can conclude that both team and individual sports are effective in the development of useful skills and should consider participating in both types in order to develop them to the fullest.