The possibility to telecommute, or work from home, is seen as highly desirable by many employees, yet in recent years some big multinational companies have cancelled their telecommuting schemes.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of a telecommuting policy from the perspective of employer. Discuss your view and support it with reasons or examples from you personal life.

In recent years, telecommute is increasingly becoming popular among many employers and employees. Many employees prefer to telecommute rather than travelling to their offices, however, currently few big international firms have cancelled their telecommuting schemes. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of telecommuting with respect to employers.

Telecommuting offers several advantages to employers but the paramount is financial gain. By adopting to this option employers can easily save a huge amount of money by renting a small office premises with less electronic set-ups. In addition, it leads to make employees more efficient because they can utilize their travelling time to office in more productive work.

There are some hidden pitfalls as well with telecommuting for the employers and so some big firms have already cancelled it. It becomes really difficult for the employers to ensure themselves that whether their employees are dedicated toward their job or not and also whether they are utilizing their whole time in official work only. As a result, it affects companies growth and making it less competitive in such a highly competitive market if the employees are not fully devoted. Thus, such factors leads to cancellation of telecommute by few companies.

In conclusion, despite huge financial gain few companies are against telecommute because of the virtual interaction with their employees. I firmly believe that the advantages of telecommute overshadow its disadvantages.