The role of humour in curing illnesses

Throughout centuries, humour has been considered as an entertainment tool and indicator of emotional satisfaction. Moreover, scientific evidences have been researched in order to discover extra functions of laughter in human life, especially in terms of medicine. Consequently, these surveys have been resulting in changing individuals’ position and making them clear on this topic.

There are two types of humour: adaptive and maladaptive, which are controversial to one another. Adaptive humor is self-enhancing and motivates patients to struggle with diseases, while maladaptive humour is self- defeating that people suffer more (Kuiper et al., 2006). Maladaptive humour could be avoided by training a staff about the scientific nature of humour and its role. As a result this tool could serve as an appropriate assistance. On the other hand, the effect of humour is a question of how people respond to this.

Humour is an integral part of the treatment. It is usually used in the treatment of depressed patients, especially if they are concerned about the consequences of the disease. The time required for treatment was reduced due to the use of comic stories. According to Christie et al., (2005), “measurements of specific neuroendocrine and stress hormone levels revealed biochemical changes that suggested improved physical stress responses and increased feelings of well-being after humorous interventions”.

Thus, humour is a bridge between patients and medical personnel, which strengthens passion and believes in a healthy future. There are many unknown things about humour that needs discovery as this has vital attitude in easing not only treatment process, but also other aspects of life. However, “we really know very little about how the brain functions in response to a humorous stimulus” (Mary and Cecile, 2006, p.62).