Should library use digital gadgets to provide information on different topics? Pros & Cons.

Nowadays, there has been a colossal upsurge in a trend to see that traditional libraries are adopting the technological advancements in making the information on myriad topics available to their users. However, like any other inventions, even this trend carries positive and negative sides of it. I shall discuss them in the following essay.

At the outset, there are myriad of benefits which can be attributed to the usage of digital gadgets by the library to provide information on various topics. To begin with, today’s user has become technologically advanced and thus he will feel more comfortable & convenient in using digital media like CDs, DVDs, or pen-drive to carry information. Not only digitalization will reduce the mammoth cost of new and updated books to the library but it will also proffer the convenience in storing and keeping the track of the e-books.

On the flip side, working on the digital media demand a technically sound staff, which will cost an extravagant amount to the library in terms of their salary. Moreover, such digitalization would require a heavy maintenance which can be much higher then what a traditional library system would need. Furthermore, technology is most vulnerable to change every now and then and thus call for the continuous update that could be a matter of concern for the librarians. In addition, non-tech savvy users will not be able to adapt to the technology.

To recapitulate, from the above-mentioned pros and cons, it can be concluded that in this technical era, even libraries owe to be using digital media to provide information on various topics, care must be taken to see that extra cost and efforts to be put do not become the hindrance in the functioning of the library.