Should teacher punish students for late submission of assignments in university?

The idea of penalties for the late submission of assignments by students is widely debated, with many people claiming that the benefits it offers are not match for its drawbacks. However I do not agree with this and I will explain in this essay.

There are a number of reasons in favour of my stance. The most preponderant one is that it instills in students an array of much-needed attributes such as discipline, punctuality, planning and time management. Not only does it help students to divided their time efficiently between different tasks and subjects, but it also prepares them well for today’s fast-paced office environment where meeting deadlines is critical. Needless to say, all these merits stand student in good stead, when it comes to living a more organised life, whether personal or professional.

Another pivotal aspect of this trend is that some students submit assignments late, not because it is a difficult task, but because they have chronic behaviour problems. They always delay irrespective of the complexity of subject matter. Apparently, offering leeway to such learners is only likely to deteriorate the situation. Hence, penalties for late submission seem to be a plausible idea.

In view of the argument outlined above, one can conclude that the benefits of penalties for late submission are indeed too great to ignore.