Should teachers punish students for late submission of assignments in universities?

The idea of penalties for late submission of assignments by students is widely debated, with many people claiming the benefits it offers are no match to its drawbacks. However, I do not entirely accept it and I will explain why in this essay.

One of the most conspicuous aspect of imposing penalties for pupil who submit their work after deadlines is that it will instill an array of valuable attributes in them such as time management, punctuality, discipline and the sense of responsibility. Not only learners become able survive in fast-pace work environment where deadlines are the primary to finish the task, but they also effectively differentiate their daily activities to maintain the balanced lifestyle. Needless to say, all these merits of making strict policies for late submissions stand students in good stead as far as living a more organized life is concerned, whether its professional or personal.

Besides, some students are unable to submit their assignments due to some genuine reasons. Apparently, extensions should be available for authentic novices. Hence, it is apparent why penalties for late submission seems to be a plausible notion.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the role of penalties for late submission in teaching students essential skills is instrumental indeed.