Should voting be compulsory for all citizens or people should have freedom to choose not to vote. What is your opinion?

It is irrefutable that mandatory voting has become one of the most conspicuous trends of today's world among most of the privileged nation, but whether it is a positive development or negative is a controversial issue. So it is little difficult to comment on it. Some people ponder it has benefitted people in a plethora of ways, and I sternly agree with it.

There are many factors which I would consider to substantiate my view. The most preponderant one stems from the fact that by using their democratic right, people can select a person who is wise and honest. Moreover, citizens can not only refuse to vote a person who is not accountable or responsible for their society, but they also have the ability to choose strong government for the entire nation. Needless to say, all these merits stand people in good stead as far as sound government and efficient management os concerned.

Shifting toward another school of thoughts, many concede that it does not seems to be fair for someone penalise or force for voting. It should be their own choice. However, it is evident that the countries who have system of compulsory voting in their province have low voting turnouts and more likely to choose best candidate, because majority can not be take wrong decision.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the benefits of compulsory voting are indeed too great to ignore.