Some people believe that the ability to read and write is more important today than in the past. Do you agree or disagree? Support your idea with examples.

These days the world is changing toward more integration with digital technologies. And thus the importance of the ability to rea and write has become a subject of considerable controversy. This essay will discuss the question and prove that the advanced reading as well as writing skills are not very important nowadays due to the modern technologies.

The modern applications for laptops and smartphones simplify the writing complexity for townsfolks a lot. The capabilities of the applications such as Word, Whatsapp and Twitter can blow the mind of an average language teacher. Even the internet browser has built in mechanisms for grammar corrections which help with spellcheck routine. For example, nowadays even a first of second grade schoolchild can type a large text without a single mistake thanks to the aforementioned tools.

With the advancement of the audio books and speech engines the necessity to read text has become less important for average people. While these modern technologies has been invented to help people with eye disabilities, they have become a kind magic wand for many people who cannot spend much time reading by allowing them to listen books and articles while walking or doing chores. And of course these progressive features may help people with low level reading skills or dyslexia to read any book with a good pace.

In conclusion, while the basic writing and reading skills are obviously important, the requirements regarding the advanced level of writing and reading skills declines dramatically.