Some people believe law changes human behaviour. Do you agree/disagree?

The crucial importance of law changing human behavior, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of the legislation has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on modifying human conduct. While it can be agreed that the law might have the ability to alter human behavior, there are still some parts that it cannot touch. The essay will elaborate how by following the law continuously it may become a habit then changing behavior and why people sometimes act against laws thus will lead to a logical reasoned conclusion.

At the outset, there are innumerable reasons why the law can change human behavior, yet the most conspicuous one is rooted in the fact that by keeping following the rules, we make them our routine and they come into our behavior. As an illustration, most of us obey the traffic signals out of habit. We stop at a red light, start an indicator before a turn and wear seat belt when we are on road. By this way, most individuals will develop an understanding that rules are necessary to maintain social order, thus obeying them as part and parcel of their behavior.

Nevertheless, some people adopt an opposing view and tend to believe that the law cannot operate in people’s minds, thus being incapable of modifying their behavior. For instance, despite the enforcement of law, we are still facing thousands of severe accidents which clearly show that rules and regulations might control the human conduct, but being incapable of altering them completely. Thus, the law has more to do with regulation and less to do with modification of the behavior of mankind.

In a nutshell, laws might exert some potential effects on human behavior, but such legislations are unlikely to alter them utterly.