Some people believe laws change human behavior. Do you agree with it?

There are a great number of people who interpret the impacts of imposing laws as thoroughly constructive and positive, while there are a number of people who hold an opponent’s view. I am inclined to believe law can positively shape people’s perception and behavior.

There are several reasons why imposing law is advantageous. First of all, it is argued that the fear of being penalized plays a pivotal role in the way people behave. This may be attributed to the fact that as a result of possible penalties, people will be compelled to constantly remind themselves about the harmful consequences of breaking the law, so that they will become more responsible and accountable for their actions. For example, the law of defamation is highly regarded as a fundamental protection of reputation for individuals and organizations.

In addition, it is claimed that law could enormously and constructively shape our perception. This is to say that legislation inevitably leads people to think the consequences of their actions in a more detailed and focused way, therefore, it would specialize the characteristics in people, which might stimulate them to acquire positive outcome in their social and personal life. For example, Malaysia has introduced a higher tax on alcoholic beverages, which has consequently led to a significant decrease in consumption of these beverages. As these examples illustrate, the benefit of imposing law is obvious, and our behavior and perception could be positively changed.

In a nutshell, the foregoing discussion propounds the view that law is essential for both individuals and organizations, and can change human behavior. It is recommended that the authorities should introduce the regulated laws in order to not restrict human rights and freedom.