Some people believe that the sole aim of higher education is to make people ready for employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Discuss

The importance of pursuing higher education is to prepare people for work has always been a debatable topic. Many people believe that primary goal of tertiary education is to make ready for employment. To large extent, I agree with this statement because if the youth of the country is educated, then only they will be able to get better jobs. The following essay would further elaborate the reasons with appropriate examples and thus lead to a plausible conclusion.

Firstly, many people believe that university education gives many benefits to their students besides the career purpose. Education is required for character development. Even if the person has a degree, it will not ensure him or her safe unless he or she has a good attitude. For instance, if a candidate appears in an interview, the panel not only check their academic qualification but also check if the person is capable enough to adapt himself to a new environment or not.

Secondly, there are numerous reasons which support the ideology that university education is only aimed at graduates to get ready for jobs. If the university students are well qualified, they will get better jobs in multi-national companies. Having a degree does not guarantee a job, but one of the prerequisites that are essential to apply job is having some or other kind of degree from the prestigious institution. Furthermore, attaining university education provides a broad spectrum of selection for the students. If they have only school education, they have fewer job opportunities.

In conclusion, although higher education provides added benefits to the graduates, its major purpose is to make youth ready for attaining job occupations. Students should acquire education so that they can have an independent and well-settled life in their future.