Some people enjoy extreme sports like extreme skiing, bungee jumping etc. What are your views on them?

Today, extreme sports are making headlines, sometimes for making world records and on few occasions to create awareness of potential dangers. Banning these sports is strongly disagreed as it will deprive an athlete from freedom of choice and it is also deterring for the economy.

To start with, in today’s liberal era, a person has the freedom to choose their choice of sports or recreational activities. For instance, smoking and drinking are the major causes of deaths and yet they are not banned. On the contrary, sports like skiing and rafting cause very few casualties. When looking at this example it is clear that depriving these players of their passion is unfair.

Moreover, these sports attract many spectators from around the world who contribute to the economy as it is a booming niche industry. For example, mountain biking championships in New Zealand attracts many tourists, which create an influx of international currency for the economy. This exemplifies that the government should promote such sports and clearly outline the safety guidelines for the participants. All in all, banning is not the solution.

After analysing these examples, it can be concluded that such sports should be encouraged with proper facilities and safety measures instead of imposing a ban on them. It has now been shown that banning extreme sports will deprive athletes and economy of their respective benefits. So, it is highly recommended to encourage these sports with financial and infrastructural assistance.