Over the past few decades, there has been a high degree of the ambivalence over this matter, whether leisure time should be spent to develop the mind or to give one's mind a rest. Whereas some people say that leisure time should be spent to take rest, I sanguinely believe that it should be for mental development. This essay will further discuss reasons to support this notion and then deduce a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are myriads of reasons to support this notion, but one of the most compelling reason is that mental development is a relaxing activity in itself. According to my own experience, when I was a university student, I performed academic research which revealed that the students who used their leisure time for mental development were successful than the one spent time in resting. Thus, the beneficial ramification of mind development apparently can be seen.

On the contrary, skeptics conjecture that taking rest in leisure time is important to stay healthy. Although it seems ostensibly veridical, this is the one-sided story. As a tangible example, research conducted by a reputed organization revealed that the mental development activities also relax the mind. Hence, It is correct to presume a preconceived notion of the skeptics.

To conclude, while there are several compelling arguments from both the sides, I profoundly believe that the benefits of mind development in leisure time far outweigh its drawbacks. Not only do the benefits of mind development prove its significance, but also pinpoints the implication of not doing so.