In recent times, there is an ongoing disputation on the purpose of education, and it inevitably ignited into a controversy. Even though the multitudinous of people hold a view that the purpose of education is to prepare the workforce, I vehemently dissent from the view. Moreover, I strongly concur that the purpose of education should be two-fold, it should be self-fulfilling as well as workforce enabling.

Firstly, people face burnout working in a job that does not provide self-fulfillment. Moreover, students who are forced to take an education that disinterests them results in poor grades. For example, in 2004, a group of eminent researchers conducted a longitudinal study and ascertained empirical evidence correlating the forced choice of study to depression, and other psychological problems. Furthermore, there is a massive rise in the suicide rate of students as parents are forcing them to take subjects which disinterest the students. Moreover, it stifles the creativity among the students and leads to a reduction of academic potential in other subjects.

Secondly, education without career prospects results in a financial burden for the students. Since the college tuition fee has increased to an exorbitant price, and students have to resort to loans to complete education, bleak financial prospects in the jobs after education may prove a major burden to them. Thus, even though education choices should lead to self-fulfillment, they also should take care of the job prospects eliminating the need for further discussion.

In conclusion, after analyzing the embellished points, we can observe the facts that education without self-fulfillment leads to burnout, and in some case suicides, and education without career opportunities rarely help in financial security. Therefore, I firmly believe that the purpose of education should be both self-fulfilling and workforce enabling as well.