Some people think the purpose of education is to prepare the future workforce and make good members of society. Others think the purpose of education should lead to self-fulfillment. What is your opinion?

Surely, there has been no time in history where the lives of people have changed more dramatically. A quick reflection on a typical day reveals that education has always been one of the prominent topics in the contemporary discussions. people have always been intrigued to analyse and explain the purpose of education. Regarding this, I would say education should prepare us for our career and make us good citizens.

one compelling argument in favour of my stance on this issue has to do with the fact that education should not be only for our happiness. it should help us solve the problems in the society. this will create a prosperous community where everyone can be happy including people with low literacy. To put this into perspective, when a non-profit organisation helps people in less developed regions, both the provider and the receiver become contended for their efforts.

Looking back at the introduction, one could also argue that when we help others, we feel happy anyway. The reason for this is we are social animals and feel joy in sharing others’ problems and solving them. As a result, it makes us feel that we are contributing to our society and are valuable members of it.

Hence based on the arguments above, I want to stress that education should not only make us better members of our communities but also help us in solving common human problems. Therefore, I firmly believe that it is not simply for our self-fulfilment.