Some people work hard for long hours to achieve success and some give importance for free time for themselves. Give your opinion and discuss your views.

The importance of work and life balance is a debatable topic. The substantial influence of hard work towards attaining success has veered many a soul short of allocating free time for them. There is ample support for the claim that while hard work is necessary for attaining success, taking time out for entertainment and relaxation is also required to keep a person charged and motivated. The following discussion elaborates both viewpoints and will lead to a logical conclusion.

On one hand, the most conspicuous reason why people work long hours is rooted in the fact that success is generally viewed in relation to materialistic and monetary objectives. For example, employees working in multinational companies always seem to be loaded with work pressure and never ending deadlines to meet, and continue to do so in order to get a promotion or salary increment and grow in their careers. It is evident; therefore, that hard work and spending long working hours are imperative for success.

On the other hand, it is a well known fact that leisure time significantly boosts productivity, concentration and improves social life. For example, people who regularly take time off from work to spend with their family and friends feel relaxed, energized and better equipped to perform than their counterparts who are always burdened with work. This clearly confirms the importance of leisure time in our day to day life.

In conclusion, while spending long hours at work are required to be successful, it is also important to allocate time for leisure and relaxation. The foregoing discussion corroborates the view that free time and hard work contribute equally towards success. Further, it is expected that people take cognizance of this fact and ensure they maintain a healthy work-life balance.