It is often argued that traveling to space has become the norm in the modern times. While the vast majority of people are fascinated by the idea of space travel, others maintain that resolving existing environmental issues on our planet must be tackled first. This essay will discuss why finding immediate actions to resolve the problems in our environment is more important than space travel.

Undoubtedly, there is an ever-increasing number of environmental issues that concerns humanity today, one of which is pollution. In fact, our basic necessities to live, such as food, water and air is now becoming polluted. To cite a primary example, a recent study shows that in 2030, the level of pollution in the atmosphere, water and food sources will increase in a staggering 45 percent across the whole planet. Thus, it is quite evident that people must take drastic measures to stop pollution.

Furthermore, space missions require an enormous amount of money. As a matter of fact, only the most developed countries in the world can afford to send missions in space at a cost of trillion dollars. For example, a study shows that the recent space mission last October that was launched by the United States costs approximately 50 Trillion dollars. Thus, it is clear the space travel is extremely expensive and is a waste of money that should have been used for environmental protection.

In conclusion, the idea of traveling to space inspired many individuals, however, humanity must focus first on protecting our planet.