One of the most conspicuous trend of today's world is the colossal upsurge of space travel. Space travel is fantastic; however, so many people claims that the public funding should be focused on environmental problems. In my opinion, this notion merits consideration and I will explain why in the following paragraphs.

To commence with, there are a myriad of environmental problems in the present world that could lead to a major catastrophe and even extinction of mankind on earth. For example, the ozone layer are depleting day by day, the temperature and pollution is soaring through the roof, and the ice in the artic is melting. Desperate time need for desperate measures, and our prime focus should be on saving our planet rather than finding a alternative in the space. Space exploration is only possible if the inhabitants are safe and healthy.

Another overt facet of my argument is that, scientist's and billionaire's view space as a place to go when we trash this planet. But the reality is that there is no known substitute for our planet in the space. They are spending thousands of crores in finding a replacement rather than keeping this one alive. Earth is one in million gift and we should protect it.

From what has been discussed above, one can conclude that even though both sectors have an important role and should be given equal opportunity, under the current scenario we should primarily focus on funding to find a remedy for the environmental problems.