With the advent in science and technology, space travel is gaining an humongous popularity. Some people believes that money spent on developing space travel could be used for some more purposeful services, such as dealing with environmental issues. I partially agree with the statement that public funding should be distributed more towards major problems rather than space travel.

Firstly, it is an undeniable fact that space exploration has always fascinated human's and a huge amount of public funding is spend on such activities. Human being always wanted to colonize space and are exploring planets which are habitable. Additionally, space is also seen as a vacation spot and it is widely believed that people will spend some time in Mars or Moon as part of their vacation. Going to space require tremendous amount of money and the tools and technology used to explore space is extremely expensive and require a lot of research.

Secondly, on the opposite side, proponents argues that rather than spending money on space travel, money should be distributed in a more justifiable way and should be spend on improving health of our environment. As we are already aware about the phenomenon of climate change and the consequences attached to it but, in my opinion, nothing much is done in order to protect our environment.

Hence, in conclusion, the foregoing discussion will propounds to the view that space travel is also vital for our society, but, governments should analyze priorities first, a good amount of public funding needs to be indulged in dealing with environmental problems, because if environment is not valued the entire humanity is at the threat.