There are a lot of inventions nowadays, which invention do you think is more important in our day-to-day life. What are the benefits and detrimental effects of it?

These days, there is a heated debate among people about the importance of new inventions. There are a great number of individuals who interpret the impacts of modern technologies as constructive, while others hold an opponent’s view. I am inclined to believe that modernity brings a tremendous amount of convenience to our life, whereas it has some negative points.

There is no skepticism surrounding the fact that technologies have made our life easier and more comfortable. Furthermore, people enjoy higher standard of living. To be more precise, with the advent of cutting edge technologies such as cell phone and Internet, people are able to keep up with the latest news in their everyday life. In other words, social media such as Face book and Twitter have brought the world close together.

On the other hand, modern life is associated with many physical and psychological disorders such as depression and obesity. Nowadays, frequent addiction to these gadgets leads to feeling of isolation and being alienated. Moreover, being overweight would undoubtedly lead to a tremendous number of cardiovascular and respiratory diseases. To be more specific, a survey conducted by Yale University in 2015 has found that spending too much time in front of computer surfing the net, will enormously deteriorate the children’s eyesight.

In a nutshell, the foregoing discussion propounds the view that technological breakthroughs could facilitate our everyday life which leads to detrimental impacts on people’s health. From my point of view, the benefits of these advancements far outweigh their drawbacks. It is recommended that parents take cognizance of these facts and restrict their children playing a lot of time with computer games.