Tobacco mainly in the form of cigarettes is one of the most widely used drug in the world. Over a billion adult smoke tobacco everyday. The long term health costs are high- for smokers themselves and and for the wider communities in term of health care cost and lost productivity.

Do governments have a legitimate role to legislate to protect citizens from the harmful effects of their own decisions to smoke, or are such decisions up to the individual?

Outlawing tobacco use would create unprecedented controversy. Billions of people worldwide smoke; whether they are chain smokers or recreational smokers. also, there are several multi-million dollar cigarette companies that will also suffer many consequences if tobacco use is made illegal. We must also consider the thousands of employees who will be left unemployed if such a legislation is made. Unfortunately, it is an industry that makes ridiculous amounts of money for many people, so the likelihood of banning it is minimal.

Nonetheless, it is a change that would benefit society on many levels in the long run. smoking causes so many health care issues, so if smoking is made illegal, morbidity and mortality rates would be reduced significantly. Quality of life will be improved dramatically, and it will allow more people to enjoy their lives significantly longer.

Legislators must also consider the rights of the individual. Should’nt every individual have the right to choose how they treat their body? The government can argue that these individuals may do as they wish, but then they must also suffer the consequences without government funding. they must take full responsibility for any health issues developed as a result of tobacco use, and not expect medicare or health insurance to cover costs caused by their own irresponsible negligent decisions.

In essence, if individuals wish to make their own decisions to smoke, they must consider all the possible outcomes, and be willing to deal with these outcomes accordingly.